Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A different perspective

Hi all,
    I vacillated about starting this. On one hand, it seems a bit narcissistic, which isn't me at all. On the other hand, no one has to read it, but for those so inclined, my situation is in many ways as different as could be from Adams', and perhaps gives a different take on the significance that Forex can have in someone's life.
    I just turned 61--today (Monday, still, here in US). I live in rural Pennsylvania, about an hour's drive from Philadelphia, with my wife of 37 years, in a house too big for us, as our three daughters are grown. The youngest, who's 26, is about to move back in on an interim basis, as she just finished grad school and her heavy loan debt is about to kick in.
    Till about a year ago, we had a stable, boring middle-class existence. I worked as a printer/tooling manager for a global label-printing company. My wife was semi-retired; she'd gone on government disability about 5 years ago, when her bipolar disorder made it impossible to continue her insurance career. She had a part-time secretarial job, two small pensions, and her monthly disability check.
    Then my employer decided that our small operation, one of about 60 locations they have around the globe, though it was being run efficiently, could be done cheaper further south, and notified us we'd be done by the end of the year. That turned out to be Dec. 15 (Merry Christmas, right?).
    Then, near the end of November, just weeks before my job ended, my wife had a stroke. Thankfully no cognitive damage, but her speech was somewhat impaired, and her right side was paralyzed (she's right-handed). After two weeks in the hospital, and six weeks in a rehab hospital, she was discharged to home.