Account balance vs leverage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Account balance vs leverage

I'm a novice FOREX investor, so I apologize in advance if my question doesn't really make sense. My question is in regards to a FOREX account subscribed to an EA signal (I actually have several trading accounts attached to several different EAs). As a US resident, I am slightly leery of depositing the entirety of my funds in an unregulated brokerage account overseas. Given an investment amount of $50,000, would it be possible to deposit only $10,000 into my brokerage account and keep the remaining $40,000 in my bank account here at home? Then since my intended investment amount is actually $50K, is there a way to use leverage and/or increase the risk amount by 5x to effectively have $50K risked?

Originally posted by fiveninefish View Post
    I'm a novice FOREX investor, so I apologize in advance if my question doesn't really make sense. My question is in regards to a FOREX account subscribed to an EA signal (I actually have several trading accounts attached to several different EAs). As a US resident, I am slightly leery of depositing the entirety of my funds in an unregulated brokerage account overseas. Given an investment amount of $50,000, would it be possible to deposit only $10,000 into my brokerage account and keep the remaining $40,000 in my bank account here at home? Then since my intended investment amount is actually $50K, is there a way to use leverage and/or increase the risk amount by 5x to effectively have $50K risked?
    Great question.

I was discussing this with a broker just last Friday.

You certainly can trade with a "notional" $50k, but only park $10k with the broker. You simply need to run your EA/strategy at 5x risk and have your additional $40k on hand if required to top up margin. This is how a lot of larger investors trade to help mitigate the broker risk.